Know Nepal

General Information:



South Asia
Longitude 80°4´ east to 30° 27´
Latitude 26° 22´ north to 30° 27´ north


China to north
India in south, east and west


East to west length 885 km.
North to south  width 193 km.


Land: 143, 151 sq. km
Water: 4,000 sq. km
Total: 147, 181 sq. km


Political System:
Federal Democratic Republic


Administrative  Information
Administrative Division:  
5 development regions
14  zones
75 districts


V.D.C (Village Development Committee):




Regional Headquarters:
Dhankuta, Kathmandu, Pokhara, Birendranagar, Dipayal


Geographical Information:
Highest Peak:
Mt. Everest (Sagarmatha) 8,848 m


Lowest Part:
Jhapa, Kechana 59 m


Distance to nearest sea:
About 500 km


Major River System:
Koshi, Gandaki, Karnali

Major Lakes:
Rara, phewa, Begnas, Shey- Phoksundo, Tilicho, Gosai Kunda

Major Glacier:
Khumbu, Langtang, Barun, Yalung

Major Mountain Passes:

Kodari, Thorang-la, Namja, Tinkar

Sub-tropical monsoon


Major Peaks:

Mt. Everest 8,848 m.
Kanchanjangha 8,598m
Lho Tse 8,516 m
Makalu 8,463 m.                                                
Cho – Oyu 8,201 m.  
Dhaulagiri 8,167 m.
Manasalu 8,163 m.
Annapurna 8,091 m


Nepal is almost rectangular in shape boarder with India on the three sides and Tibet in the north. Geographically Nepal is divided into three regions from south to north depending upon its topology and climatic condition.


Nepal is extended from 60 m and attain 8,848 m height at the summit of Everest within the width of  193 km. This wide range of variation with in short width creates its geography unique. Geographically Nepal can be Divided into three regions:-

This region covers the mountain range whose altitude is 3,000 meters to 8,848 meters above the sea level. With spare human habitation, most of the areas have a wild landscape, undisturbed tranquility of the nature rules over the land. Along with Mt. Everest, the region includes eight of the 14 peaks of the world which exceed the altitude of 8,000 meters and many more mountains. The Himalayan region also divided into 3 regions:

  • Greater Himalaya
  • Boarder Himalaya / Trans Himalaya
  • Inner Himalaya / High Mountain Valley / Bhot


Mountain region covers the areas whose altitude is 600 meters to 3,000 meters above the sea-level and accounts for nearly 64 percent of total land area of the country. Along with the Mahabharat and Churia Mountain ranges, this region has many longitudinal fertile valleys of the principal rivers. Kathmandu valley is also situated in this very region. Likewise, the Himalayan regions are divided into 3 regions, Mountain region also divided into 3 regions:-

  • The Midland Range (Valley/Tars/Beshi)
  • Mahabharat Range
  • Churia Range


This region form a low flat land belt and includes the most fertile land and dense forest areas of the Country. It accounts 17 percent of the total land of the country. It has the width of 26 to 32 kilometers and its altitude does not exceed 305 meters above the sea level. This region is also divided into 3 regions:

  • Southern Terai Region
  • Bhabar Pradesh Region
  • Inner Terai Region


Nepali is the national language of Nepal. Educated people understand and speak English as well. There are hundreds of local dialects spoken by people from various ethnic groups.


Nepal has four major seasons
Autumn: September-November.
Winter: December-February
Spring: March-May
Summer: June-August


Time and  Business Hours
Nepal Time is 5 hours 45 minutes ahead of GMT.
Government offices are open from 10 am to 5 pm from Sunday to Friday.
Saturday is Public Holiday.
Embassies and international organization are open from Monday to Friday.

Currency of Nepal is rupees. the denominations of currency notes are available In 1, 2, 5, 10, 20, 25, 50, 100, 250, 500, 1000. Similarly the coins are available in 1, 2, 5 and 10 rupees.


Hindu 80.6%, Buddhist 10.7%, Muslim 4.2%, Kirant 3.6%, other 0.9% (2001 census).


28,901,790 (July 2007 est.)


Ethnic Groups:
Chhettri 15.5%, Brahman 12.5%, Magar 7%, Tharu 6.6%, Tamang 5.5%, Newar 5.4%, Muslim 4.2%, Kami 3.9%, Yadav 3.9%, other 32.7%, unspecified 2.8% (2001 census)


Political System
Constitutionally, Nepal is a parliamentary democracy with a largely ceremonial president as Head of State and a Prime Minister as Head of Government. The Prime Minister currently leads a coalition government. Elections for a 601 seat Constituent Assembly cum legislature were held on 10 April 2008. General elections are due to be held in 2010.


Festival :
Each ethnic groups have its own festivals. Some of the major festivals are listed below with their dates . However the dates may not coincide with the solar calendar or Gregorian calendar as it is set to a Lunar calendar.


New Year April 13
Lhosar – Tibetean New Year Feb. 28
Shivaratri March 06
Holi March 21
Teej  Sept. 02
Dashain    Oct. 09
Tihar  Oct. 25
Chhath Parba Oct. 28
Indra Jatra   Sept 14
Buddha’s Birthday  May 20


World Heritage Sites of Nepal:
There are two categories of World Heritages.:-

Cultural Categories:
Kathmandu Durbar Square
Patan Durbar Square
Bhaktapur Durbar Square
Chagu Narayan
Lumbini- Birth place of Lord Buddha


Natural Categories:
Chitwan National Park
Sagarmatha National Park


National Parks, Wild life Reserve and Conservation area
The Geography of Nepal is broadly divided into High mountains, mid hills and low lands. The wide varities of eco system exists from sub tropical jungles of Terai to arctic conditions of Himalayan Highlands .20% of the total area are protected under the National Parks, Wildlife Reserves, conservation area , Hunting Reserve and Buffer Zone.

National Parks:
Bardia National Park
Chitwan National Park
Khaptad National Park
Langtang National Park
Makalu Barun National Park
Rara National Park
Sagarmatha National Park
Shey- Phoksundo National Park
Shivapuri Nagarun National Park


Wildlife Reserve:
Koshitappu Wildlife Reserve
Parsa Wildlife Reserve
Shuklaphanta Wildlife Reserve


Conservation Areas:
Annapurna Conservation Areas
Kanchenjunga Conservation Area
Manaslu Conservation Area


New Conservation Areas:
Api Nampa Conservation Area
Blackbuck Conservation Area
Gaurishankar Conservation Area


Hunting Reserve:
Dhorpatan Hunting Reserve